Jump to contentJump to sitewide-navigation


The Scoop

Big and Fast

There are five species of Rhinoceros- Black and White Rhinos, Sumatran and Javan Rhinos, and the Greater One Horned Rhino. The black and white species are found in open grasslands and floodplains, while the other three species prefer swamps and forests. The word rhinoceros comes from the Greek words ‘rhino’ meaning ‘nose’ and ‘ceros’ meaning ‘horn’ - and the horn is the rhinoceros’ most distinguishing feature. Javan rhinos and greater one-horned rhinos have only one horn, while Sumatran rhinos, black rhinos, and white rhinos have two. Rhinos have big heads, thick legs, poor eyesight and excellent hearing. They also love to roll in mud! Rhinos have a special relationship with tick birds or oxpeckers. The bird feeds on ticks that it finds on the rhinos skin, and in return, it nosily warns the rhino of approaching danger.

View an Animal Cam

Rhinos are big! The biggest is the white rhino which can be as long as two adults lying head to toe - around 12 to 13 feet. The white rhino can weigh as much as 5000 pounds, or as much as a big car. The other species are smaller- but still big and heavy. Rhinos are vegetarians.  The black rhino is a browser and eats leaves, shoots, bushes and trees. The white rhino is a grazer, feeding on grasses.

Rhinos rank among the most endangered species on Earth and face a serious threat from poaching. The only way to ensure their survival is to secure them in protected areas such as sanctuaries.

Back to Animal Facts

Account Login

Close this login on the right

Add to Cart/Wishlist Confirmation

Close this confirmation on the right

Quick View of Item

Close this quick view on the right